

2023 List of Lecturers

In Alphabetical Order

Lecturers from the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea



Professor David Joseph Attard (Malta)

Member of the Tribunal since 1 October 2011 President of the Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes since October 2020

Zonal Approach to the Law of the Sea

https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-tribunal/members/vice-presidentdavid-joseph-attard/

Marco Benatar (Belgium) Legal Officer at the Tribunal since September 2019

ITLOS: Prompt Release, Provisional Measures, Advisory Opinions

https://researchportal.vub.be/en/persons/marco-benatar





Professor Ida Caracciolo (Italy) Member of the Tribunal since 1 October 2020

Navigating the High Seas: Flag and Port State Jurisdiction

https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-tribunal/members/judge-idacaracciolo/

Professor Tomas Heidar (Iceland) Member of the Tribunal since 1 October 2014 Vice-President of the Tribunal since October 2020

Settlement of Disputes under UNCLOS and the Role of ITLOS

https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-tribunal/members/judgetomas-heidar/



Dr. Ximena Hinrichs Oyarce (Chile) Registrar of the Tribunal since 20 September 2019

Jurisdiction under Part XV LOSC

https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-registry/the-registrar/msximena-hinrichs-oyarce-registrar/



Professor Liesbeth Lijnzaad (The Netherlands) Member of the Tribunal since October 2017

Sustainable Use and Conservation of BBNJ https://www.itlos.org/en/main/the-tribunal/members/judgeliesbeth-lijnzaad/

Visiting Lecturers



Dharshini Bandara, LL.M (United Kingdom) Barrister Fleet Hamburg Maritime Law: Building and Scrapping Ships https://www.fleet-hamburg.com/en/team/dharshini-bandara-llm/

Vasco Becker-Weinberg (Portugal) Guest Professor NOVA School of Law Marine Environmental Protection https://novalaw.unl.pt/en/vasco-becker-weinberg/





Elda Kazara-Belja (Albania) Senior Lecturer IMO International Maritime Law Institute

Marine Scientific Research

https://www.wmu.se/people/elda-kazara-belja

John Brown (United Kingdom) Law of the Sea Consultant Cooley LLP

Maritime Delimitation Workshop







Rory Butler (United Kingdom) Partner Holman Fenwick Willan LLP *Maritime Law: Carriage of Goods by Sea 1, Charterparties* https://www.hfw.com/Rory-Butler

Dr. Robin Cleverly (United Kingdom) Director Marbdy Consulting Ltd.

> Offshore Resources Maritime Delimitation Workshop http://www.marbdy.com/about-us/





Dr. Erik van Doorn (The Netherlands) Research Associate Walther Schücking Institute for International Law (WSI) at the University of Kiel

The Regime of the Area and Mandate of the International Seabed Authority

https://www.wsi.uni-kiel.de/en/the-team/research-associate/erikvan-doorn-1/erik-van-doorn-1

Professor Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry (Dominica) President (Jun 2015-Jun 2023) World Maritime University (WMU)

ILO Consolidated Maritime Labour Convention https://www.wmu.se/people/cleopatra-doumbia-henry





Dr. Christian Finnern (Germany) Member of the Board of Directors of IFLOS Partner Watson Farley & Williams Ship Building & Vessel Financing: S&P, Ship Finance

https://www.wfw.com/people/christian-finnern/

Gesa Heinacher-Lindemann, LL.M (Germany) Senior Vice President / Global Compliance Officer DNV

The Role of Classification Societies





Filippo Lorenzon (Italy) Consultant Solicitor Campbell Johnston Clark Professor of Maritime and Commercial Law Dalian Maritime University

Maritime Law: Introduction & Scope, Salvage & Wreck https://www.cjclaw.com/site/people/profile/filippo.lorenzon

Dr. Volker Lücke (Germany) Partner Clyde & Co Arrest of Ships



https://www.clydeco.com/en/people/l/volker-luecke



Dr. Eva Romée van der Marel (The Netherlands) Postdoctoral Researcher Oxford Martin School

The Regime of Fisheries under the Law of the Sea

https://www.oxfordmartin.ox.ac.uk/people/eva-van-dermarel/

Professor Norman A. Martínez Gutiérrez (Honduras) Professor of International Maritime Law Director of the IMO International Maritime Law Institute (IMLI)

Maritime Law: Limitation of Liability for Maritime Claims
https://www.imo.org/en/MediaCentre/PressBriefings/pages/IMLI
-Director.aspx





Andrew Murdoch, LL.M (United Kingdom) Legal Director Foreign Commonwealth & Development Office

Maritime Security: Piracy and Maritime Terrorism

https://www.gov.uk/government/people/andrew-murdoch

Professor Irini Papanicolopulu (Italy) Associate Professor Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca Individuals and the International Law of the Sea https://www.unimib.it/irini-papanicolopulu





Professor Anna Petrig (Switzerland) Professor of International Law and Public Law University of Basel UNCLOS as the Constitutions for the Oceans https://ius.unibas.ch/de/personen/anna-petrig/

Professor Clive Schofield (Australia) Head of Research WMU-Sasakawa Global Ocean Institute

Baselines under the International Law of the Sea Law of the Sea and Climate Change

https://www.wmu.se/people/clive-schofield





Dr. Gaute Sivertsen (Norway) Director International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds *Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage*

https://iopcfunds.org/news/gaute-sivertsen-appointed-asnew-iopc-funds-director/ Professor Martin Stopford (United Kingdom) Visiting Professor Cass Business School / Dalian Maritime University / Newcastle University / Copenhagen Business School

Green Shipping - Challenges and Chances

https://mlecs.com





Christoph Zarth (Germany) Partner / Head of Maritime CMS Germany

Maritime Law: Carriage of Goods by Sea 2 (Hague/Visby-, Hamburg- & Rotterdam Rules)

https://cms.law/en/deu/people/christoph-zarth

Dr. Eckehard Volz (Germany) Partner Clyde & Co Maritime Law: Introduction & Scope, Salvage & Wreck https://www.clydeco.com/en/people/v/eckehard-volz





Dr. Ruosi Zhang (PR China) Counsellor World Trade Organization

Shipping and WTO Law

https://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/trips_e/bios_2605_part2.pdf